Syracuse UniversityAtlanta


We’re Halfway There!

Georgia Scholars FundIn fall 2013, the SU Alumni Club of Atlanta (SUACOA) and the Atlanta Regional Council launched the Georgia Scholars Fund to provide additional scholarships and financial assistance for SU's growing pool of Georgia applicants. They’ve made great strides so far, raising over $55,000 in gifts and pledges!

The Georgia Scholars Fund is an endowed scholarship fund used to both award academic achievement and provide need-based financial assistance. By offering scholarships that reward academic excellence, Syracuse University attracts the best students. By providing need-based financial assistance, we ensure opportunity. And by reducing the burden of student loan repayments, we show our local students that they are valued members of the SU family. Since the fund is endowed, the earnings will be available for eligible Georgia students in perpetuity.

The goal is to reach $100,000 by December 2014. A special task force of alumni volunteers has been assembled to assist with the fundraising, including Rey Pascual ’85, Ian Thompson ’01, Reggie Acloque ’99, Miko Horn ’95, Deborah Knoblock ’88, G’90 and Brian McNeil ’05, G’10.

“Thank you to our current donors and to this group of volunteers who have agreed to reach out and encourage other alumni in Atlanta to join us,” says task force member and chair of the Atlanta Regional Council Rey Pascual ’85. “We must reach $100,000 by December 2014, so we can award the scholarship to a student attending SU in fall 2015. Every gift counts, so we really need all alums in Georgia to participate at any level. Every dollar helps.”

As of June 9, 2014, donors to the Georgia Scholars Fund include:
SU Alumni Club of Atlanta
Reggie Acloque ’99
Nicholle Adams
Joe Anis ’94
Karen Bailey
Tom Baker ’72
Tracy Barash ’89
Henry Brent ’81
John and Patricia Breyer
Peter Ent ’80
Anthony Fulton ’82
Tanya Forrest Hall ’93
Steven Harvey ’91
Jack '81 and Gail ’81 Healey
Miko Horn ’95
Jason Jedlinski ’99 and Jay Nitz
Brian McNeil ’05, G’10
Metrotainment Cafes
Mjrs. Alison Murray ’01 and Dwayne Murray ’97
Gunnar Olson
Rey Pascual ’85
Keri Potts ’98
Karen Spear G’03
Ian Thompson ’01
Joe Trino ’70
Kathy Walters '73 and Stanley Walters ’72
Mitchell Williams
Sam Zamarripa G’78
Russ Zukowski ’85

Join fellow Georgia alumni and give now or, for further information, contact Karen Spear, executive director of regional advancement, at 315.443.2410 or